Crystal Nail file review

I’m still in the process of catching up with the current nail care techniques.  Up until about a week ago, I’d never even heard of a crystal or glass nail file – and I had no idea what I was missing…

I recently did makeup for a film crew.  The hours are long and there’s alot of idle time. There’s an old saying, “idle hands are the devil’s workshop” and that definitely applies to me when it comes to my hands.  When I’m bored or nervous I usually start messing with my nails.  What starts off as picking at a chip in my polish turns into me peeling all the polish off my nails.  Without the protection of nail polish, I’ll begin to start searching for peels in my actual nail.  I have a horrible problem with my nails peeling into layers and I’ve never been able to prevent it.  When I see a peel just waiting to happen, I make it happen.  Yes I know it’s horrible!  At that point there’s no going back, and at the end of the day my nails are naked, edges rough from my biting them and surface uneven from the layers that have come off.  I’m considering going into “therapy” giving up color polish and truly commit to using Nailtiques for two weeks.  And when I do, you’ll be seeing a post from me about the experience!

Now back to the main point of this post.  I did some research on glass files and why they are better than steel/metal (which I never liked) and emery boards.  I’ve been using emery boards for years but they do get gunky and dusty either living in the bottom of my purse or in my bag o’ nail stuff I keep in my house.  So I went searching for glass nail files and I found two.  One mini sized to keep in my purse and a larger one for home.

I filed myGlass Files nails from the mess I made of them doing the film shoot and Holy cow!  What a difference! First of all, the filing was quick!  I didn’t have to do much to get the edges smooth.  With emery boards I’d always notice places where the edge was not smooth and I wouldn’t realize it until I had finished polishing my nails.  Then I would have to try and fix the problem without ruining the finish.

I absolutely adore glass files.  I’m a complete convert.  The best things about them are 1) they will never wear out because the surface is etched.  2) they are easy to clean, just run them over warm water.  3) they are also easier to sanitize.  Why don’t nail salons use these?  I don’t get my nails professionally done but I did get mine done in August for a wedding and I saw no glass files.  What’s up with that?  Maybe the fancier ones do use them and I just don’t know since I don’t go to higher end salons.  In  any event. I’m getting one for my mom and whoever else I can think of.  I’m ready to spread the word!

One Response to “Crystal Nail file review”

  1. I also love the glass files. They leave such a smooth surface, and also it seems to make less nail dust, which I always find kind of icky. Love my new polish, btw. Also your secret tip on where to find cheap polish nearly did me in today! But I made me, myself and soon to be my niece very happy!

Leave a Reply

