My Free Manicure, and Free Essie Polish!

I was walking with two of my friends around Union Square today and we each received cards for a free manicure at one of the area salons.  It was a promotion for Kirstie Alleys new reality show, Kirstie Alley’s Big Life, which starts this week on A&E.  The only caveat was that you had there was no polish choice.  Everyone had their nails painted with the signature shade of Kirstie Alley’s big lie by Essie called “Life, Lick it”  It didn’t matter to me because the color was pretty fabulous.  I haven’t had a professional manicure since last September for my best friend’s Wedding.  I had some time to kill so I jumped at the chance to get a free manicure.

I took this opportunity to pay close attention to what the manicurist was doing, so my at home manicures will look a little less DIY.  I paid particular attention to how she painted my nails.  the first placement of the color was on the lower third of the nail, not too close to the cuticle so the color never drifted where it shouldn’t go.  She painstakingly moved the brush over my nails.  She did not do what the magazines used to tell you to do, one stroke down the middle, and one on each side.  She used CND base coat, and Out the Door top coat, which is not my favorite fast dry top coat but  it certainly served its purpose.  The best part was, Each person got to keep the bottle of polish!

Essie "Life. Lick it"

This is a Red based purple shimmer.  I’d probably choose this color even if I was getting a paid manicure!  It’s dark but not too dark.  I want to try and get a picture in the sunlight but since I’ve barely seen the sun in three days outside my window, that won’t be possible.

5 Responses to “My Free Manicure, and Free Essie Polish!”

  1. That’s awesome. I really like this color!

  2. Oooh, pretty color! And a random free manicure would make my month! How fun!

    So the “lower” third first, does that mean the tip end or the cuticle end?

  3. Wow, how cool was that? And that polish isnt even a sucky free polish. Great!

  4. I was searching google for information about manicure styles and this is some great info. Just what I needed. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

