CND Haul and Lacquerholic Tries the “Stickey” Sandwich

While I was at IBS Las Vegas, I was thrilled to finally have the opportunity to check out CND.  For some reason the nail polish gods haven’t blessed us New Yorker’s with any stores that I know of that sell CND Colour and Effects. I can easily find CND products like Solar oil and perhaps a few base and top coats, but I had  yet to see the collection of CND Colour and Effects with my own eyes.  In the interest of saving money and looking at the whole collection, I decided to limit my spending here – Sad but true.  I figured it was more important for me to get a few effects and less of the colors, so I chose just one CND Colour and two effects.  After much deliberation I chose Green Scene!

CND Green Scene

I really like this bright cheery green creme.  I don’t think I own any greens quite like this in my collection.  The polish applied like a dream.  It wasn’t streaky and was opaque in two coats. I already want more!

After choosing Green Scene, I decided to get some Effects.  I figured for my money it was wiser to pick two Effects.  I can use them with any polish and… well, they’re just so darn pretty!  I went through all the effects and in the end, I went with Violet Shimmer and Jade Sparkle.

With Violet Shimmer (middle) and Jade Sparkle (index)

This photo doesn’t do these effects justice at all.  I’m going to have to get a better picture of these with a darker polish.  I think I’m loving the violet shimmer a tiny bit more than the Jade Sparkle, but again. I need a different polish to see how just how intense the Effects really are.

While I was there, I got to talking with a nail technician at the booth.  She told me about a technique a fellow nail aficionado told her about called “The Stickey Sandwich”.  The technique is supposed to result in a longer lasting manicure.  It starts with a coat of CND Stickey base coat, then a layer of the nail polish of your choosing, another coat of Stickey, a second coat of polish, hen a third coat of stickey, a final layer of polish then the top coat of your choice.   Here’s my manicure using  the Stickey sandwich technique and Nubar Wildlife on day three.

The Stickey Sandwich Day Three

As you can see there is some obvious tip wear here, but I didn’t think it was so bad.  Usually my manicures begin to peel a little on the second day.  Then if I find myself getting fidgety during the day I’ll find a weak point in the seal of my nail polish and start to peel my polish off.  While this may not be a bulletproof manicure, it certainly has more staying power than my usual technique – and I didn’t have the urge to peel!

Stay tuned to part two of my CND review where I share my brief but worthwhile encounter with CND’s new Hybrid nail color Shellac!

Leave a Reply

