Del Sol Nail PolishReview.

I’m not sure what rock I’ve been living under, but I don’t think I’ve heard of a nail polish that changes color in sunlight.  In fact I haven’t heard of any color changing product since mood rings made a resurgence in the 80’s.   A co-worker ROAK’d me a bottle of this color changing nail polish by a company called Del Sol.  Del Sol, established in 1994 is a company that makes a variety of color changing products, like clothes, jewelry, and other accessories.  Fascinating!  There is a collection of 24 nail polishes, and each of them changes color in the sun.  Perfect for someone like me who changes her mind about which color to wear.  With these nail polishes, I can wear two!

Del Sol "flirt" indoor color

The color I got was called flirt.  It starts off as a basic pink frost – very old school, nothing to write home about. I applied a base coat and three coats of lacquer with a top coat of Seche Vite.  I wasn’t sure if the top coat would affect the color changing.

Sunlight color as shown on bottle

Hers’s a swatch of what the color is supposed to look like when exposed to sun light.

"flirt" exposed to sunlight

And here is the color exposed to sunlight.  I was extremely skeptical that the color wasn’t going to change.  As you can see, in intense sunlight, it really does change into this rosy pink shimmer.  Luckily the day I tried it was a crazy sunny day.  I took this photo outside on my way to work.  One thing to note is that when you go back indoors, or your hands are not exposed to sunlight, the initial shade comes right back.  I was hoping the sunlight color would last a little longer indoors.  It goes away after about 30 sans sunlight.   And just being outside isn’t really enough, your nails have to be directly in the sun in order to get the full effect.  This would work great in super sunny climates when you’re out on the beach all day. The formula on this polish was really nice.  Not to thick, not too thin.  Application was easy,  and I think two coats would have done the job.  I applied three just to make sure I got complete color payoff.

This shade is just the tip of the iceberg.  There’s a blue that changes to green called “Rockstar”  Most of the colors look like shimmer shades, but I think they have a few cremes as well.  I’d love to see what the cremes look like.  There’s a light pink that changes to deep purple called “Beach Bum”.  I’m now lemming that one as well.

The website claims that the polishes are Formaldehyde and Toluene free.  In the ingredients on the back of the bottle I didn’t see the words dibutyl phthalate included on the list of ingredients.  You can find Del Sol Products at http://www.delsol.com.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Del Sol Nail PolishReview.”

  1. Del Sol polishes are so cool, I especially love their glitter ones – I have Rockstar and Heartbreaker and they’re both gorgeous 🙂

    When I was in the states, I dragged my hubby to their store in SF and they had so many things changing colors in sunlight 🙂

Leave a Reply

